September Morn #NoDaPL

Kendra Lynn


The shriek of the eagle splits the silence of the plains in two. Hovering & then swooping. Massive wings painted and enormous against the slate, blue sky. He inches closer; talons piercing still waters. His prey dangling & convulsing – he glides into the horizon with a satisfaction poets and prophets can well imagine.

This. On such a peaceful September morn.

My eyes are captured by the stark beauty of a field of gold. As I meditate in the stillness of it all, I hear the drums. I hear the rumbling of the earth. Warriors. Bound by an ancient creed. A creed that has stood the test of time amidst all oppression. Surviving genocide. They ride.

The Protectors.

I look out on my valley. My Illinois. I think of my water. My innocent son. My golden boy. Oh, but they’re coming from all directions. Stifling the oppressive, toxic projections.

My…

View original post 15 more words

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

